Emma

First, a confession. I didn’t read this one, so much as I listened to a dramatization created specifically for Audible (which is an awesome service, by the way – I love it). So there are probably chunks of text that I didn’t get to partake of, but knowing how long-winded Austen can be, I’m okay with that. 

The pacing for this book was very similar to what I experienced with Pride and Prejudice, and though I didn’t admire the character of Emma as much as I did Lizzy Bennet, I enjoyed the story nonetheless.

The emphasis was on being able to identify and admit your own mistakes, and how that will help you grow as a person if you’re willing to confront those things in your own life (as opposed to trying to “fix” someone else’s life).

It was a good way to pass the time while I was cleaning, but the moment to moment story wasn’t very interesting until I was almost halfway through, so I’m probably not going to keep this one around for re-reading.

All in all, it was a fun read and I don’t regret it. I’d recommend this one to someone who was looking to travel a long ways and needed something that wouldn’t distract too much from making the correct turn in whatever city you’re heading into our out of.

Now that it’s October, let me know what you’ve got on your TBR list! I’ve seen a lot of horror/suspense novels and murder mysteries – is that your jazz, or are you aiming for something else?

This is the last time I’m announcing this: the Catawampus base of operations is moving to a new website. I look forward to seeing you over there!

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑